The Good and Simple Stuff

It's another food blog!

Valentine’s Day February 14, 2010

Filed under: Baked Goods,Dessert — clairezee @ 10:09 pm
Tags: , ,

me and chris

My boyfriend and I have a tradition of staying in and cooking a meal together for Valentine’s Day.  We decided to celebrate the Saturday night before Valentine’s Day this year.  I had a great menu planned.  I was going to splurge–seared salmon with green lentils and mashed potatoes.  For dessert?  Molten chocolate lava cakes.  Let’s just say things did not go as planned.  After following the recipe for cooking the lentils to a tee, they were very undercooked.  The mashed potatoes were fine, but how do you really mess those up anyway?  Then, just as I was starting to make the salmon, I burned my hand pretty bad.  I had to sit the rest of the meal out.  Luckily Chris salvaged the salmon and finished cooking our dinner and I managed to scarf it down with only the use of my left hand.  But it was missing lentils and I was in no condition to make the molten lava cakes.  So on actual Valentine’s Day, I was determined to make these cakes.  They are good and simple, but certainly not healthy.  But I figure Valentine’s Day is all about the love and I loved eating this dessert with my love, Chris.

Molten Lava Cakes

Adapted from Paula Deen

8oz chocolate (I used half dark and half milk)

10 tablespoons butter

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

3 large eggs

3 egg yolks

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 425° F

Spray 4-6 ramekins (I only had 4 so that’s how many I used).

Melt the chocolate and butter in a double boiler.  Add the flour and sugar to the chocolate and butter mixture.

Thanks again to Chris for taking photos

Stir in the eggs and egg yolks until smooth.  Stir in the vanilla.  Divide the batter evenly among the ramekins.

Place on a baking sheet and put in the oven for approximately 14 minutes.  I had to cook mine a little longer because there was more batter in each of my 4 ramekins.  Just look for the edges to be firm and shrinking away from the sides of the ramekins (but the center will be runny).

Run a knife around the edges and invert onto a plate.  Serve with ice cream, sprinkled with powdered sugar, with fresh berries or with whatever you want!

the aftermath

 

2 Responses to “Valentine’s Day”

  1. Colie Says:

    PLEASE, please, please, make this for me sometime. The only sweets I had today were the 6 tootsie pops I found in the bottom of one of my tote bags…
    xo

  2. Mom Says:

    I’d like to see some more updates.
    XO


Leave a Reply

