The Good and Simple Stuff

It's another food blog!

Raspberry Blueberry Muffins December 8, 2009

Filed under: Baked Goods — clairezee @ 11:01 pm
Tags: , , ,

I know they aren’t in season, but I spotted the most delicious looking raspberries at Trader Joe’s and had to get them.  I normally just put raspberries on top of my cereal, in my yogurt, or in a smoothie, but I wanted to do something special with these.  I perused all of the raspberry recipes on Tastespotting.com and found this one.  I made a few changes with this recipe.  First, I omitted the banana (because someone I know does not like bananas).  Second, I didn’t have any vanilla yogurt around, so I used blueberry yogurt instead. Third, I used frozen blueberries instead of fresh.  The muffins turned out great—perfectly moist and fruity.  They can certainly be eaten for breakfast or any time of day, really.  Thanks to my cousin, Grace, for helping me put the berries into the muffin batter!

Raspberry Blueberry Muffins

Adapted from For the love of cooking

1 3/4 cups whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup low fat yogurt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup blueberries

1 cup fresh raspberries

Preheat the over to 350°F.  Coat a muffin tray with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, salt, and baking soda until well combined.  Set aside.

In a separate bowl, mix the egg, oil, yogurt, vanilla, white sugar, and brown sugar.  Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet being careful not to over-mix.

Add half of the blueberries and fold them into the batter.

Spoon the batter into the muffin tins and then top each muffin with the raspberries and remaining blueberries–really push them inside the batter so they are stuffed.

Bake for 18-20 minutes or until a tester inserted in the muffin comes out clean and muffins are golden brown.

Cook muffins a bit and then serve (if you can wait that long).

 

One Response to “Raspberry Blueberry Muffins”

  1. Francis Says:

    These look delish!


Leave a Reply

