The Good and Simple Stuff

It's another food blog!

Pears, Pears, Pears October 7, 2009

Filed under: Dessert — clairezee @ 9:54 pm
Tags: , , ,

PA071751

I picked up some pears at the grocery store recently just to have some fruit around.  I got a couple of the Bartlett variety and decided to try some Asian pears as well.  I have always thought these individually wrapped pieces of fruit look beautiful, but had never tried them (they are a little expensive).  Fully intending to eat this fruit by itself, I then remembered my aunt Nicole’s pear cake.  I knew I wanted to make it.  So I called her for the recipe.  The ingredients and recipe could not be simpler and the results are mouth watering.  This cake has amazing flavors and is incredibly moist.  I wish my apartment always smelled the way it did while this cake was baking.

Pear Cake
Adapted from Aunt Nicole’s recipe

2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cups vegetable oil
2 cups sugar
3 eggs, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla
4 ripe pears, skin on, chopped (first core them with an apple slicer and then chop them into bite sized pieces)

100_1458

Sift dry ingredients in a separate bowl and set aside.  Since I used whole wheat flour, I sifted it twice.

Mix the vegetable oil, eggs, sugar and vanilla together.  Mixing by hand is sufficient for this recipe.

Add the dry ingredients and mix well.

PA071734

Fold in the pears.

Pour batter into a greased and floured pan.  I used a 9 x 13 pan.

PA071737

Bake until the cake shrinks away from the sides of the pan and a cake tester comes out clean, approximately 45-50 minutes.  The top will get crispy, bubble up, and the sides will look slightly wet.

PA071738

Cool cake for 30 minutes.

Serve with vanilla ice cream or homemade whipped cream that has a dash of cinnamon in it (that’s what my aunt recommends but I didn’t have any whipping cream this time).

 

3 Responses to “Pears, Pears, Pears”

  1. Michele Mallette Sherman Says:

    I can smell it through the computer. Yummy!

  2. Aunt Nicole Says:

    I LOVE sharing recipes with my sweet Claire! She has become quite , competent dans les arts gastronomiques. Bon appetit!
    xo

  3. thomasaduda Says:

    Yum. I wish that I could be there to taste it.


Leave a Reply

