The Good and Simple Stuff

It's another food blog!

Finding a Use for Door County Cherries September 7, 2009

Filed under: Cookies — clairezee @ 9:12 pm
Tags: , , ,
P9061486

Photographs by Chris Jansen (thank you!)

So this is my first recipe post.  I personally don’t think there’s a better way to begin than with a recipe for oatmeal cherry chocolate chip cookies.

It all began with a bag of dried cherries my parents brought back for me from Door County, Wisconsin (they also kindly brought me a cherry pie, cherry barbecue sauce, cherry butter, and cherry scone mix—good thing I like cherries).

P9061451

I’d been eating the cherries straight out of the bag, but decided I really wanted to make an oatmeal raisin type cookie, substituting raisins for cherries (not that I don’t like raisins).  That’s one of the great things about an oatmeal-based cookie—you can easily substitute raisins for another dried fruit and you can always add another ingredient (nuts or, in my case, chocolate chips).

P9061462

What I love about cookies is that anyone who even seldom bakes probably has the necessary ingredients for some type of cookie lying around.  When it comes to oatmeal raisin cookies, I’m a fan of the crispy edge, yet soft and chewy inside variety.  So I was drawn to Deb’s (of smitten kitchen) version of thick, chewy oatmeal raisin cookies.  Here’s how I made her recipe my own:

P9061472

Chewy Oatmeal Cherry Chocolate Chip Cookies
Recipe adapted from smittenkitchen

Using a heaping tablespoon to scoop the batter onto the baking sheet, this recipe gave me about 21 decent-size cookies.

1/2 cup butter, softened (I only had salted around, so I used that and decreased the amount of salt I added)
2/3 cup light brown sugar, packed
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup all-purpose flour (I sifted mine, but you don’t have to)
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt (I used 1/8 teaspoon because of the salted butter I used)
1 1/2 cups rolled oats
3/4 cup dried cherries
1/2 cup chocolate chips (I used semi-sweet)

Preheat oven to 350°F

In a large bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar, egg and vanilla.  In a separate bowl, whisk the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt together.  Mix this into the butter/sugar mixture.  Stir in the oats, cherries, and chocolate chips.

Based on the recommendation from the original recipe I followed, I decided to cover and chill my batter for about 20 minutes.  This supposedly makes for a thicker cookie.  I have to say my cookies did turn out a bit thick, which I loved.

Place the cookies two inches apart on a parchment-lined baking sheet.  Bake for 10-12 minutes (baking time varies depending on the oven and how cold the cookies are).  I found that with my oven and based on how long I chilled the batter, these took approximately 14 minutes for the edges to turn golden with the tops still looking slightly undercooked.  Remove from over and let them sit on the baking sheet for a couple of minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack.  If you’re like me and don’t have a cooling rack, just transfer them to some paper towels laid out on your counter.

 

3 Responses to “Finding a Use for Door County Cherries”

  1. thomasaduda Says:

    Claire, I love the layout and richly illustrated post. One day I just might try cooking something. When I do, this will be my first stop for inspiration. Keep keeping it good ‘n simple!

  2. Karen Walsh Says:

    The illustrations are perfect and this looks like a great recipe. I love baking cookies for the holidays, so I will keep this handy!

  3. Michele Mallette Sherman Says:

    I really like the simple directions and the accompanying photos. These will be a crowd pleaser.


Leave a Reply

